August 13, Tuesday Weekday

The portion of the Lord is his people. — Deuteronomy 32:9

Mass Readings: Deuteronomy 31:1-8/Matthew 18:1-5,10,12-14

Jesus’ Flock

I’ve found that the parable about the lost sheep in today’s Gospel often confuses younger children. One student might say the shepherd is stupid for leaving 99 sheep alone to go look for one sheep. Another student, usually a boy, would put on a spooky voice and say something like, “Yeah, and here comes the wolf.” And then third might add, “It would serve the lost one right if the shepherd just let him go.” Who said being a catechist was easy?

I told my students that when I was a child I was once separated from my class during a field trip to the zoo. My teacher left the class with one of the accompanying mothers and searched until she found me. How thankful I was that the teacher kept looking! Then my students understood the lesson: Jesus loves every sheep in His flock.

Prayer: Jesus, we the sheep of Your flock thank You for Your continuing love and care.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/11042/August-13-Tuesday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on August 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

