July 29, St. Martha

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. — Psalm 106:1

Mass Readings: Exodus 32:15-24,30-34/John 11:19-27 or Luke 10:38-42

Martha the Worrier

I’ve usually thought of Martha in today’s Gospel from Luke as being the “doer” of the two sisters, the one who was always busy taking care of friends and family. But I was surprised when I looked closely at Jesus’ words; he says that Martha is “anxious and worried.” Now being a worrier myself, I know that worry exists only in the mind. In fact, it’s hard to worry when you’re physically busy. So Martha had to have spent quite a bit of time brooding and fretting for Jesus to notice and call her on it.

As I read this passage, I can imagine Jesus telling me as He did Martha, that I, too, am anxious about many things. I don’t always know how to sit quietly at His feet, but I am willing to learn.

Prayer: Jesus, help me to stop worrying and begin trusting You with my life.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on July 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

