July 18, Thursday Weekday

The Lord remembers his covenant for ever. — Psalm 105:8

Mass Readings: Exodus 3:13-20/Matthew 11:28-30

Give Me Rest

Life seems to go in seasons and, as I write this, I’m in a season of challenges, ranging from the death of my mother to health issues to financial concerns. That’s why I find comfort in today’s Gospel in which Jesus tells all of us who are burdened that He will give us rest. However, sometimes that rest seems elusive. My burdens don’t feel “easy” and my yokes don’t feel “light.”

But a closer reading reveals that perhaps they aren’t meant to be. It is Jesus’ yoke that is “light,” not ours. So what is Jesus’ yoke? It’s obedience to His word and commands. It’s letting go of fear and learning to live in trust. It’s accepting God’s will for my life instead of my own ideas. It’s surrender.

Prayer: Jesus, help me take on Your yoke so that I might have rest.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

