July 17, Wednesday Weekday

The Lord is kind and merciful. — Psalm 103:8

Mass Readings: Exodus 3:1-6,9-12/Matthew 11:25-27

On My Mind

In today’s Gospel, we have one of Jesus’ prayers. Like the “Our Father,” Jesus addresses God as father in this one as well. And as in the “Our Father,” He acknowledges God as the Lord of heaven and earth. But in this prayer, Jesus doesn’t call God “our” father, but speaks to Him more one on one. It seems to me that Jesus is simply talking to the Father as a son, in full trust that the Father is listening.

I find this prayer to be encouraging for my own prayer life. Too often it seems like prayer must follow some formula such as praise/confess/thank/ask or consist of elegantly constructed phrases such as we say in the Mass. Jesus’ prayer lets me know that sometimes it’s OK to just tell God what’s on my mind.

Prayer: Father, may I always know I can tell You anything.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10905/July-17-Wednesday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on July 19, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

