July 12, Friday Weekday

The salvation of the just comes from the Lord. — Psalm 37:39

Mass Readings: Genesis 46:1-7,28-30/Matthew 10:16-23

Growing with Change

When God sent Jacob to Egypt in the first reading, he was an old man. He was established in Beer-sheba with all of his livestock and possessions. It would have been much easier for him to stay put than to get into a wagon and head out across the desert to a new place. Yet, that’s just what Jacob did. He embraced the change in his life.

At this point in my life, I’m on the cusp of many changes, and leaving the place I’ve called home for most of my adult life is just one of them. Like Jacob, I have livestock (cats) and possessions (lots of them). Just thinking about everything the move entail makes me feel rather faint. But, I know, change is the cornerstone of life and without it, we can’t grow.

Prayer: Jesus, help me to buck up and accept the changes You desire in my life.

Posted on July 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

