July 9, Tuesday Weekday

In justice, I shall behold your face, O Lord. — Psalm 17:15

Mass Readings: Genesis 32:23-33/Matthew 9:32-38

Bless Me

I visited the site in Jordan where, in the first reading, Jacob is said to have wrestled with God. We stopped for photographs and I remember thinking that it was just an ordinary stretch of riverbank in a desolate location, but in that mundane location Jacob became Israel and all of history was changed.

Isn’t that always the way with God? It seems to me that we most often struggle with Him, not in the great grand places, but in the quiet common. We sit at our kitchen tables trying to pay bills or in doctors’ offices waiting for reports, grappling with the hard questions of “why?” and “how?” In those most ordinary of settings, we wrestle alone with God, saying with Jacob, “I will not let go until you bless me.”

Prayer: Lord, help me cling to You as the source of all that I need.

Courtesy of Our Sunday visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10897/July-9-Tuesday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

