July 8, Monday Weekday

In you, my God, I place my trust. — Psalm 91 (see 2)

Mass Readings: Genesis 28:10-22a/Matthew 9:18-26

Saving Faith

My mother’s favorite Bible passage was the story of the woman with the hemorrhages in today’s Gospel. Through her struggle with Crohn’s Disease, she would always tell me that if she could just “touch His cloak,” she would be healed. While she never experienced a complete healing, she did get a remission that lasted nearly 10 years before her death last year at age 92.

As I deal with some of the difficult issues of my life, including some health concerns, I find myself praying that passage, too, as I say to Jesus, “If I can only touch the tassel of Your garment, I will be made well.” And I hope that, like the woman so many years ago, Jesus will turn to me and say, “Courage, daughter! Your faith has saved you.”

Prayer: Jesus, You know what I need. Hear and answer my plea.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10896/July-8-Monday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

