July 5, Friday Weekday

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. — Psalm 106:1

Mass Readings: Genesis 23:1-4,19; 24:1-8,62-67/Matthew 9:9-13

Our Unexpected God

Some things never change. Hatred of taxes and tax collectors is one of them. That’s why, when Jesus called Matthew to be one of His disciples, people were shocked. Jewish religious leaders didn’t become close friends with the people who were helping the Romans to fund their occupation of Israel. The Messiah was supposed to overthrow the oppressors; not have dinner with them.

When I listen to God’s directives in my life, they often seem almost as startling as Matthew’s call in today’s Gospel. I find myself saying, “You really want me to do that, God?” Yet I’ve come to learn that God is a God of the unexpected. His ways are not my ways and when I accept that, I often discover that He has a bounty of blessings waiting for me.

Prayer: God, may I hear Your voice and obey Your will for my life.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10893/July-5-Friday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on July 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

