Question of the Day for Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Protection from Evil?

Q. My question came to me when some Catholic friends were telling me that I need to anoint with blessed oil and pray over the foster children that come into our family for protection from the sins of their parents. They wanted to know if I ever did it to my adopted daughter. I never did it, but she was baptized. I thought that when she was baptized the sins of the past are removed. I always pray for all the family. What do you know about praying and applying blessed oil for things children inherit from their parents?

D.N., via e-mail

A. Here is a reply from Father Francis Hoffman, J.C.D.:

For the record, sacraments are more spiritually powerful than sacramentals. When your adopted daughter was baptized, she received both an exorcism and the anointing with the oil of catechumens on the chest and the chrism on the crown of the head, far more powerful than any other blessed oil.

Read the rest of the answer at Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/TCANav/TCAQuestionoftheDay/July152013/tabid/8724/Default.aspx

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

