July 2, Tuesday Weekday

O Lord, your mercy is before my eyes. — Psalm 26:3

Mass Readings: Genesis 19:15-29/Matthew 8:23-27

Pillar of Salt

Consider Mrs. Lot in the first reading. She is forced to escape into the harsh desert hills because two strangers (often said to be angels) told her, her husband, and her daughters to flee Sodom and Gomorrah immediately. No collecting family treasures. No saying goodbye to friends and family. Just run! Moreover, they were warned not to look back. But Mrs. Lot did glance behind her and was turned into a pillar of salt as a consequence.

I’m afraid if I were there, I’d be a pillar of salt, too. I’d have wanted to sneak just a little peek at what was happening behind me. But Mrs. Lot’s story reminds me to focus on the present and not the past, because it’s only in the present that God can lead me to safety.

Prayer: May I live in the present, Lord, and not cling to the past.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

