June 30, Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

You are my inheritance, O Lord. — Psalm 16 (cf. 5)

Mass Readings: 1 Kings 19:16b,19-21/Galatians 5:1,13-18/Luke 9:51-62

Monica’s Inheritance

I’ve thought a lot about illness and death since February 2010 when Monica was first diagnosed with cancer. Thanks be to God, until the last week of 2012, we had time to talk about this together. As she prepared to die, and I prepared for her leaving, she showed amazing faith, courage, and graciousness. Today’s psalm echoes her beliefs:

“You are my inheritance, O Lord. Therefore my heart is glad and my soul rejoices; my body, too, abides in confidence because you will not abandon my soul to the netherworld, nor will you suffer your faithful one to undergo corruption. You will show me the path to life, fullness of joys in your presence, the delights at your right hand forever.” Amen.

Prayer: Gentle Lord and Blessed Mary, be with those who are grieving.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on June 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

