June 24, Nativity of St. John the Baptist

I praise you, for I am wonderfully made. — Psalm 139:14

Mass Readings: Vigil: Jeremiah 1:4-10/1 Peter 1:8-12/Luke 1:5-17; Day: Isaiah 49:1-6/Acts 13:22-26/Luke 1:57-66,80

The Love of Cousins

This feast of Jesus’ cousin has me thinking about my own cousins and the unique bond cousins share. Growing up, my four siblings and I were close to our maternal cousins, and that’s remained the case. As young adults we got to know our paternal cousins better and that relationship continues to be a joy and blessing.

Renaissance artists liked to depict Jesus and his cousin John with the Blessed Mother but Scripture makes no mention of that. In the Gospels they meet face-to-face as adults. I think one of the saddest and most telling scenes is Jesus hearing that His cousin has been killed. (That event is remembered on August 29.) Matthew tells us, “When Jesus heard of it, he withdrew in a boat to a deserted place by himself.” It wasn’t just a disciple who had died; it was a family member.

Prayer: Thank You, dear God, for extended families.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10789/June-24-Nativity-of-St-John-the-Baptist.aspx

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment