June 23, Twelfth Sunday in Ordinary Time

My soul is thirsting for you, O Lord my God. — Psalm 63:2

Mass Readings: Zechariah 12:10-11;13:1/Galatians 3:26-29/Luke 9:18-24

No, Not This Cross

I understand the lesson about taking up one’s cross daily that Jesus is teaching in today’s Gospel. I agree with it. It’s just that . . . Often I don’t want this particular cross on this particular day. I want to run from it at this particular time in my life. And then my prayer become a lengthy explanation of why that’s the case. An argument that could be boiled down to three words: “Just not now.” Or maybe four: “Just not now, please.”

I have a neighbor who’s a Christian and an emigrant from Egypt and he’s had his share of hard times and heartaches over the years. Once when I had been talking about Monica getting terminal cancer, he gently said, “Every cross is a blessing.” I try to keep that in mind.

Prayer: Thank You, Lord, for being with me when I carry my daily cross.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10788/June-23-Twelfth-Sunday-in-Ordinary-Time.aspx

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

