June 14, Friday Weekday

To you, Lord, I will offer a sacrifice of praise. — Psalm 166:17

Mass Readings: 2 Corinthians 4:7-15/Matthew 5:27-32

Newlyweds

Today’s date has me thinking about brides and grooms because in 1941 my mother was the bride and my father was the groom. During their many years together (Dad died in 1998) they never said to me, “Here is what it means to be married” or “This is what it takes to be happily married” but they certainly taught me that. And I’m so grateful for it. It was their example, how they lived their marriage and loved each other, that helped me want to do the same.

Mid-June is a good time to stop for a moment and consider all newlyweds and to offer a prayer for them. And it’s a good reminder that every husband and wife needs prayers, especially when a marriage is going through a tough time.

Prayer: Dear Lord, bless all newlyweds (and “oldy-weds,” too).

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10779/June-14-Friday-Weekday.aspx

Posted on June 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

