Question of the Day for Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Holy Communion and Civil Marriage?

Q. I’m a Catholic, but due to some circumstances with our papers we weren’t able to be married in the Church, and another reason is my partner is not a Catholic. It has been almost three years now that I have not received holy Communion, but I go to church. I heard it’s not OK if you receive holy Communion when you’re not yet married in the Church because you’re not yet obeying the sacrament of the Church. That’s why I don’t do it, but now, I know so many people who have a civil wedding that receive holy Communion every time they go to church. This makes me a little bit confused: What is the real answer for this … may a couple with civil wedding can receive holy Communion or not?

Marife, via e-mail

A. Here is a reply from Father Francis Hoffman, J.C.D.:

You sound like a very good person, and I’ll bet you’ll get to heaven before me! You are humbly obedient to the Church’s indications about marriage: the Church asks you to marry in the Church, and if you do not do so, you should refrain from holy Communion, until you marry in the Church.

Read the rest of the answer at Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/TCANav/TCAQuestionoftheDay/June10142013/tabid/8716/Default.aspx

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

