June 12, Wednesday Weekday

Holy is the Lord our God. — Psalm 99 (see 9)

Mass Readings: 2 Corinthians 3:4-11/Matthew 5:17-19

First-Year Latin

Sometimes I tell myself that my four years of Latin were a waste of time since I can’t read or speak that language. But when I saw the first verse from today’s first reading, two Latin words popped into my head: “Such confidence we have through Christ toward God.” “Confidence,” coming from “cum,” meaning “with”; and “fides,” meaning “faith.”

When I’m confident in myself I have faith in me. Confidence in others is faith in them. And confidence in God means . . . I’m placing my trust in one, in the One, who will never betray me, never let me down, never stop loving me. The One who wants only the absolute best for me now, and for all eternity.

Prayer: Dear Lord, help me remember confidence in You is more than a feeling and sometimes demands a choice.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on June 12, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

