Question of the Day for Friday, June 7, 2013

Way of the Cross chaplet

Q. Recently on a trip to Rome I purchased a rosary only to find out that it was something called a Stations of the Cross rosary. Can you enlighten me on this?

— R.W., Bountiful, Utah

A. Here’s a reply from OSV columnist Msgr. M. Francis Mannion:

This rosarylike aid to prayer, properly called a chaplet, is meant to assist people who are not physically able to walk the Way of the Cross to identify with Christ’s sufferings and death. The chaplet consists of 15 groups of three beads each, between which medals are representing the 14 Stations of the Cross. On the three beads between each station, one prays the Our Father, Hail Mary and Glory Be.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor:


Posted on June 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: