June 5, St. Boniface

To you, O Lord, I lift my soul. — Psalm 25:1

Mass Readings: Tobit 3:1-11a,16-17a/Mark 12:18-27

Our Personal Calvarys

I’d like to claim some verses from today’s responsorial are familiar to me because I know the psalms so well. It isn’t so. “Your ways, O Lord, make known to me; teach me your paths, Guide me in your truth and teach me” rang a bell because of the hymn that uses similar words for its lyrics.

There are times in our lives when we discover the method the Lord uses to teach His ways can be pretty tough to take. That learning His paths, being guided in His truth, and being taught by Him are not our first choices. For us, here and now, they don’t make sense. The only results seem to be grief and pain. But that isn’t so. These “personal Calvarys” move us closer to our “personal Easters,” and to Him.

Prayer: Loving Father, help me be better aware of Your presence, right here, right now.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10755/June-5-St-Boniface.aspx

Posted on June 7, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

