Question of the Day for Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Is Doubting a Sin?

Q. At times, I find myself questioning God’s existence. During these periods of doubt, I continue to pray daily and attend Sunday Masses. I also brought the subject up during my last confession. I was assured what I had thought was true; that most Christian people have doubts concerning God’s existence sometime during their lives.

My question is: When is doubting a serious sin? I understand there are two types, voluntary and involuntary? Can you provide examples of when doubting becomes a mortal sin?

George, via e-mail

A. Here’s a reply from TCA columnist Father Ray Ryland, Ph.D., J.D:

The distinction you make between two types of doubt is clearly spelled out in the Catechism: “Voluntary doubt about the faith disregards or refuses to hold as true what God has revealed and the Church proposes for belief” (No. 2088). This kind of doubt, persistently held, could lead to entirely cutting oneself off from God, and thereby lapsing into mortal sin.

Read the rest of the answer at Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/TCANav/TCAQuestionoftheDay/May6102013/tabid/8711/Default.aspx

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

