April 28, Fifth Sunday of Easter

I will praise your name for ever, my king and my God. — Psalm 145 (cf. 1)

Mass Readings: Acts 14:21-27/Revelation 21:1-5a/John 13:31-33a,34-35

Loving Leadership

In the years I’ve worked in Raleigh, N.C., I’ve interviewed a lot of Catholic leaders: a chief of police, a world-renowned college basketball coach, a pastor of a huge and hugely diverse parish. I discovered that leadership isn’t just something that comes naturally: All of these men study the topic continually, trying to learn how to be even more effective leaders in their settings.

I’ve looked at the literature a little, and here’s a angle I haven’t seen: “How Does a Leader Love?” When Jesus says in today’s Gospel, “Love one another as I have loved you,” I envision a loving leader who listens, forgives, and teaches; who acts with honesty, conviction, and patience. A loving leader, like Jesus, sees the best person I can be and encourage me to become that.

Prayer: Jesus, if I’m called today to lead, help me to lead with love.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on April 28, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

