Mass Reading & Meditation for April 24, 2013

Meditation: John 12:44-50

Saint Fidelis of Sigmaringen, Priest and Martyr

I came into the world as light, so that everyone who believes in me might not remain in darkness. (John 12:46)

Sometimes the road ahead seems dark. We may be facing challenges like unemployment, loss of a loved one, or a broken relationship. We may feel as if God isn’t listening to us. We can imagine many future pitfalls, and we may not have our eternal goal clearly in view.

In today’s Gospel passage, Jesus offers a key that can help us discern his light in the midst of whatever darkness may be filling our minds or hearts: “I did not come to condemn the world but to save the world” (John 12:47).

I’ve blown it. It’s too late to repair that relationship. Condemnation. Darkness. Choose rather the truth: God shows the way to reconciliation (2 Corinthians 5:17-20).

God doesn’t care about me. Condemnation. Darkness. Choose rather the truth: Jesus “came into the world to save sinners,” especially me (1 Timothy 1:15).

God seems irrelevant; he’s so far away. Condemnation. Darkness. Choose rather the truth: Jesus promised to be with me always (Matthew 28:20). I can even hold him in my hand when I receive holy Communion.

This person is not worth spending time on. Condemnation. Darkness. Choose rather the truth: This is a beloved son or daughter of God. Jesus can help me discover how to honor him or her.

If any of these thoughts describe the way you’re feeling today, lift up your eyes! Your risen Lord is coming to you with his arms outstretched. Take a step forward and put your hands in his. He knows the road ahead, and he has promised not to leave you orphaned. The final goal, being united with him forever, is more glorious than you can imagine, but the journey is meant to be filled with light as well. Even now, Jesus longs for you to live in the light of his presence. Even now, he invites you to let his love change the way you see everything else.

“Jesus, you are the light of my life. Let the light of your salvation free me and transform me.”

Acts 12:24–13:5; Psalm 67:2-3, 5-6, 8

Posted on April 24, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I feel this differently and the same, tis not Gods fault, tis not my faith that is challenged, that is unwavering, the endurance is my fault, at times with issues of hospitalization over and over, sometimes you want to go home. Every moment is a gift.

Leave a Reply

