Mass Reading & Meditation for April 21, 2013

Meditation: Revelation 7:9, 14-17

4th Sunday of Easter

They were … wearing white robes. (Revelation 7:9)

Jesus, I can’t wait to get to heaven and put on my white robe. It’s going to be so exciting, experiencing the greatest victory of my life—and I didn’t even do the hard part. You took care of that for me when you died on the cross!

Lord, I can’t wait to be with all of my family, my friends, and even all of my ancestors from generations past. It’s going to be so fascinating to learn about where I came from and to hear the stories of all those who have gone before me. I can’t wait to meet all the saints as well and to finally discover their ways of holiness. From the Virgin Mary all the way down to Mother Teresa and John Paul II, I want to see through their eyes what it is like to have lived in such a deep union with you, Jesus.

I can’t wait to join in the heavenly worship that is constantly going on before your throne, Lord. I wonder how similar it will be to our Sunday Mass? I wonder if the sense of joy and peace I get when my pastor lifts up the Host at Mass is anything like the joy I will experience see when I put on my white robe and stand before you, singing your praises and rejoicing in your love and glory. Lord, I can’t wait to experience this!

Most of all, Lord, I can’t wait to finally see you face-to-face. I can’t wait to thank you for coming in the flesh. I can’t wait for the day when I can throw my arms around you and thank you for dying for my sins on the cross!

Lord, I really don’t know what heaven will be like. But I do know that when we proclaim the mystery of faith at Mass today, I will say it just a bit more loudly than usual. I long for the day when I can put on my white robe and be with you forever!

“Save us, Savior of the world!”

Acts 13:14, 43-52; Psalm 100:1-3, 5; John 10:27-30

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

