April 20, Saturday Easter Weekday

How shall I make a return to the Lord for all the good he has done for me? — Psalm 116:12

Mass Readings: Acts 9:31-42/John 6:60-69

‘To Whom Shall We Go?’

You can’t reach a certain age without experiences that leave you alone with God. The first one I remember was the sudden death of my father. He was 39; I was 17. We had spoken in the evening before I turned in. A few hours later the paramedics were standing over him in his room, shaking their heads. After they took his body away, I went out to our front yard and looked up at the stars.

I didn’t have any words. In a cartoon the thought balloon over my head would have contained nothing but a single, life-sized question mark. All I knew, like Peter in today’s Gospel, was that only one Person had the answer, and that Person was the One who had spoken the words of eternal life.

Prayer: Lord, when life is beyond my understanding, I turn to You.

courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10555/April-20-Saturday-Easter-Weekday.aspx

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

