April 13, Saturday Easter Weekday

Lord, let your mercy be on us, as we place our trust in you. — Psalm 33:22

Mass Readings: Acts 6:1-7/John 6:16-21

Sailing in the Dark

Sometimes I can feel that, like the apostles in today’s Gospel, I’m sailing in the dark. That’s a pretty common feeling for a writer. You know where you embarked, and where you’d like to end up. But along the way you can be blown off course; sometimes all the way back to shore, where you look for another casting-off place.

In my life as well, there have been times when I’ve come to a sinking (pun intended) realization that I’ve lost my way. My priorities are wrong. I’ve let my spiritual life lapse. I’ve sinned. In those places of darkness, places from which I’ve excluded Him, the Lord’s compassionate approach startles me. Like the apostles, my first reaction may be fear. But then I reach out to Him, and I’m suddenly back on course.

Prayer: Jesus, You come to me in darkness. Let me not be afraid to embrace You.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

