Question of the Day for Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Is it still Communion?

Q. Some years ago, a family member brought home Communion for some sick parents. Owing to unexpected circumstances, the Communion was not consumed and instead was placed in a pyx on the mantle. This was not an intentional act of disrespect by any means, but the Communion was overlooked for several years after the passing of both parents. My question is: What should I do with the Communion now? Can it still be consumed? Is it still Communion? I want to do what is right.

N.R., Lafayette, Ind.

A. Here is a reply from Father Francis Hoffman, J.C.D.:

Something very similar happened to me when I visited an elderly person recently. Her husband attends daily Mass and brings her holy Communion afterward. On this particular day, he left the pyx with the consecrated Host in the kitchen. Days later, when I arrived, the good woman asked me to give her holy Communion and told me that the consecrated Host was out in the kitchen. Needless to say, I was shocked. I went to the kitchen and found it just as she had said. So I gave her holy Communion using the rite for “Communion to the Sick Outside of Mass.” No disrespect was intended by the elderly couple. On the contrary, both are pious and good souls. But as people get older, they tend to become forgetful.

Read the rest of the answer at Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/TCANav/TCAQuestionoftheDay/April8122013/tabid/8706/Default.aspx

Posted on April 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

