March 10, Fourth Sunday of Lent

Taste and see the goodness of the Lord. — Psalm 34:9

Mass Readings: Joshua 5:9a,10-12/2 Corinthians 5:17-21/Luke 15:1-3,11-32

Membership ID

A few years before I converted to Catholicism, my husband told me that if I were to join the Church I’d receive a special membership ID card. This card, he said, would give me discounts on everything from Catholic books to burial plots. I’m embarrassed to say that he had me going for a while.

Though some might question his method of evangelization, he was right about one thing: when we’re baptized into life with Christ, we receive a brand new identity. As St. Paul tells us in today’s first reading, “Whoever is in Christ is a new creation.” Now that we’ve received this new identity, do we carry it around discreetly like a card in our wallet? Or, have we allowed Christ to transform us so radically that others can’t help but notice?

Prayer: Lord Jesus, when others look at me today, may they only see You.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on March 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

