March 9, Saturday Lenten Weekday

It is mercy I desire, and not sacrifice. — Psalm 51 (see Hosea 6:6)

Mass Readings: Hosea 6:1-6/Luke 18:9-14

God-given Abilities

Today’s Gospel on humility reminded me of a woman dying of brain cancer who had one final wish: to hear a song played on a Native American flute. Our priest asked if I could do that for her. “Of course,” I said. I was glad to use my talents to bring this woman a bit of joy in her final days.

I confidently strutted down the hall toward her room, thinking to myself, “God has chosen me to carry out this important work!” How quickly the sand shifted under my feet. I was awestruck and humbled by the faith of this dying woman. At the end of our visit, she made a comment I’ll never forget: “If I’ve done anything good in this life,” she said, “it’s because the Maker has given me the ability to do it.”

Prayer: Dear Lord, forgive me for being arrogant.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on March 9, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

