February 26, Tuesday Lenten Weekday

To the upright I will show the saving power of God. — Psalm 50:23b

Mass Readings: Isaiah 1:10,16-20/Matthew 23:1-12

Places of Honor

I’ve attended many dinners over the years as a member of some organization or another. In all those years, I’ve never sat at the head table. That means I should be able to read today’s Gospel with some bit of satisfaction. Obviously when Jesus talked about how the scribes and Pharisees “love places of honor at banquets” (Mt 23:6), He wasn’t talking about me.

Except, the reason I’ve never sat at the head table is not humility on my part. It’s because I’ve never been asked. Given the chance, I would have been up there on that elevated platform looking down on the other 95 percent. Jesus constantly calls us to take the narrow path. Which do I really prefer, temporary earthly honors or eternal glory?

Prayer: Mary, you who always followed the path of humility, show me the way.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on February 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

