February 22, Chair of St. Peter

The Lord is my shepherd; there is nothing I shall want. — Psalm 23:1

Mass Readings: 1 Peter 5:1-4/Matthew 16:13-19

Who Am I?

Today’s Gospel includes some memorable lines. Jesus asks the disciples who people say that He is. After hearing answers such as John the Baptist, Elijah and Jeremiah, Jesus cuts right to the core. He asks: “But who do you say that I am?” In reply, Peter answers: “You are the Messiah, the Son of the living God” (Mt 16:15-16).

Of course when we read Jesus’ question, we understand that He’s also asking it of each one of us. Who do I say Jesus is? As baptized Christians our answer should be the same as Peter’s. Once that question is answered, much tougher questions remain: What, then, am I going to do about it? What difference does it make in how I live? Those questions need answers every day.

Prayer: Holy Spirit, help me to lead a life that makes a difference.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on February 22, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

