February 16, Saturday after Ash Wednesday

Teach me your way, O Lord, that I may walk in your truth. — Psalm 86:11ab

Mass Readings: Isaiah 58:9b-14/Luke 5:27-32

Left Behind

One day a rich young man asks Jesus what he must do to gain eternal life. Obey the Commandments, Jesus says. The man says he’s done that since he was a boy and asks what else he must do. Jesus replies, “Go, sell what you have and give to [the] poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” The man went away sad because he had many possessions (Mt 19:16-22).

How different the response of Levi, the tax collector, in today’s Gospel. When Jesus says, “Follow me,” Levi leaves everything and follows. Whenever I hear these stories, I shake my head in disbelief at the young man. But all my possessions prove I’m more like him than Levi. Unlike the young man, do I even understand the choices I make?

Prayer: Holy Spirit, give me the courage to practice what I profess.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/tabid/7627/itemid/10258/February-16-Saturday-after-Ash-Wednesday.aspx

Posted on February 17, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

