January 25, Conversion of St. Paul the Apostle

Go out to all the world and tell the Good News. — Mark 16:15

Mass Readings: Acts 22:3-16/Mark 16:15-18

Daily Conversion

I have a friend who often speaks of her “conversion experience.” She assumed I’d had one of my own, although I’ve been a lifelong Catholic. For a long time I felt cheated. I wanted a flash-of-light spiritual moment akin to Paul’s experience in today’s first reading, or at least something to rival my friend’s big God-moment. I had tried to be faithful. Why wasn’t I rewarded with a conversion experience?

And so I began to reflect on my life and those moments where I sensed God’s presence and the moments where He was, obvious only in hindsight. While I have never had an Aha! moment like St. Paul, I have had many smaller conversion experiences, tiny spiritual sparks along life’s way as opposed to thunderbolt revelations. What Aha! moments has God slipped past you?

Prayer: St. Paul, help me to see the light of Christ.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on January 25, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

