January 13, The Baptism of the Lord

The Lord will bless his people with peace. — Psalm 29:11b

Mass Readings: Isaiah 42:1-4,6-7 or Isaiah 40:1-5,9-11/Acts 10:34-38 or Titus 2:11-14,3:4-7/Luke 3:15-16

Quiet Compassion

Unfortunately, I’m a bit of a yeller, as my children can attest. Even as I’m in mid-yell, however, deep down I know it’s not the best way. But I get caught up in the notion that authority requires a strong, loud voice, or I might be ignored or, worse, disobeyed.

In Isaiah, we get a foreshadowing of the Messiah’s approach. He will bring justice without crying or shouting. “A bruised reed, he shall not break.” I can’t help but think about Jesus drawing silently in the dirt when the woman caught in adultery is brought to Him (Jn 8:1-11). Do we have the courage to teach through quiet compassion rather than self-righteous indignation? Jesus asks us to bend rather than strike or break, to preach always, as St. Francis said, and only when necessary use words.

Prayer: Jesus, I want to model my actions, my words on the compassion You lived.

Courtesy of Our Sunday Visitor: http://www.osv.com/MyDailyVisitor/tabid/7626/Default.aspx

Posted on January 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

